DUI Consequences in Washington State

It is universally accepted that driving under the influence of alcohol or illicit drugs is a bad thing. Certainly, everyone is aware that operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or other substances can cause injury or death to yourself and others. What many people do not realize, however, is that the consequences for being cited for driving under the influence of alcohol vary from state to state.

The state of Washington is no exception. In fact, the state of Washington has its own specific consequences for those who make the mistake of driving under the influence of alcohol or other illicit substances.

The state of Washington is one of the strictest states in the United States of America when it comes to mandatory penalties for a person’s first incident of driving under the influence of alcohol or other substance. Washington DUI notes that the mandatory consequences for a person’s first citation for driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances include:

  • 24 consecutive hours of jail time
  • 90 day license suspension
  • A year of interlock ignition
  • 5 years of probation
  • Approximately 1800 dollars in penalty fees

If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances in the state of Washington, you should almost certainly consult an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help guide you through the legal process. Experienced criminal defense attorneys in the state of Washington are trained to do what they can to ensure that you receive the most favorable outcome possible from your legal proceedings.

Any and all information on this website is merely for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. Information on this website is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.